Missed my Thursday post…

Yep, I sure did.

In my defense, however, I did just start a new job last Monday; so, my mind was elsewhere.

That said, I was going to talk about iTranslate, which is my primary app for translation (http://itranslateapp.com/).

I’ve been using iTranslate since I first got my iPhone back in 2012, and I have found it to be one of the most useful tools in my language learning arsenal. There’s a free version and a paid version. In most instances, the free version is totally sufficient.  The paid version gets you voice pronunciation, which is useful, as well as longer text strings. The free version gets words and phrases. While I use it primarily for Spanish, it does a whole ton of languages. I’ve used it for both French and Portuguese.

Unfortunately, you do find a word that it does not know every so often. In which case, I will shift to the Oxford Spanish-English dictionary on my Kindle (I review that another time). Or, I’ll google the translation. I would say, though, that iTranslate gets about 90% of the words/phrases.

iTranslate is available on every platform about which I know, including as a Windows 10 app.  I have used it on my iPhone, my Kindle, and on my laptop (Win-10). Seriously, this is an app you should have.

 

 

Leave a Reply

