Veggie Sandwiches

Very few things are more convenient for a quick meal or snack than a sandwich. Very little prep work is required – a couple of pieces of bread, something in the middle, some mustard – then, you munch.

I think it’s easier to accomplish a sandwich if you eat meat. However, that could just be me. To me, it seems as if there is a lack of options. Maybe that is due to my limited definition of a sandwich: meat and cheese. Which, if you think about it is pretty limited.

Okay, what makes for a sandwich if you’re forgoing salami and cheese? There’s always peanut butter, or just cheese. I have few complaints for either, other than a steady diet of either is going have some negative consequences weight-wise. Then, there is hummus, which I love and make from scratch. By itself, though, it’s more like a condiment than the excellent source of protein it is. So, I think sliced veggies, maybe some sprouts and/or lettuce, too.

Some folks will suggest marinated tempeh or eggplant or zucchini. Those are good ideas; but, I usually want a sandwich on the fly, and those options take preparation and planning. I am not vegan, so eggs are an option; yet, they are easy to overdo, too. I do eat veggie burgers, but I don’t want a steady diet of them.

I haven’t tried any of the veggie “sandwich meats.” They are expensive and unappealing to me. Maybe I’ll give them a shot sooner or later.

What about you? Do you have a non-animal flesh sandwich you like and want to recommend?

2 thoughts on “Veggie Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

