A Well-Timed Compliment

I’ve sort of stalled, with regard to my weight-loss, since about the second week of August, rolling back and forth within a five-pound range, generally between 202 and 199.  As one of my WW friends might say, I’ve been learning how to maintain…I just wanted to maintain a bit lower than where I am at now.

So, I’ve been kind of down recently about it, and trying to figure out how to get it jumpstarted DOWN again, and this negative thought and that negative thought…blah, blah, blah.

So, tonight, I stop at Starbucks to get a latte.  A couple of the guys with whom I’ve become friendly were there.  I had not seen either during Ramadan, so they had not seen me in over a month.  One’s a well-educated Nepalese guy, the other a Saudi kid raised in Florida (who would love to go back there).

Both of them, at the same time, see me and say, “You’ve lost so much weight!!”  They went on and on about how much I’d lost, how good I looked, how much smaller my stomach was now than it used to be.  Man, I just let them go and soaked it ALL up.

Perspective.  Although I still want to lose another 20 pounds, I am so much healthier and healthier looking than I was this time last year it is not even funny.

Sometimes, a well-timed compliment can do so much for you.

Leave a Reply

