Cremation vs Burial

I am an unapologetic proponent of cremation.

I have been since I was a young man and realized that cemeteries are a huge waste of good land.  No religious prohibitions for me.  No fear of needing the ol’ bod after dying.  No respect for the money grubbing funeral industry.   If anyone should ever tell you that I wanted to be buried, they’re lying.  Not that I have an opinion on the subject or anything.

My wife and kids are well aware of this stance, and they know what to do with me when the day comes.    Should something happen at home, or in the USA or Canada, it’s not going to be a problem.  Cremate.  Box.  Ship home.  Hold massive, drunken wake, and toast me with awesome 30-year-old single-malt scotch and fine Oregon microbrews.

Much less expensive.

Unfortunately, the folks here in KSA don’t believe in cremation.  Apparently, it’s a Middle East thing.  Not that I am planning to die or anything; but one must plan for contingencies, and I would want it to be as easy on my family as possible.  Nope, no cremation services in this country.  At least, not that I know of, anyway.  Box.  Ship home.  Cremate.  Hold massive, drunken wake, and toast me with awesome 30-year-old single-malt scotch and fine Oregon microbrews.

MUCH more expensive.

Ah well.  What can you do?

BTW, anybody brings a blend or even comes close to my place with a Miller Lite for my wake…I WILL come back to haunt you…and it will NOT be pretty.  You’ve been warned.

One thought on “Cremation vs Burial

  1. I have no qualms with cremation and that is my default plan. But my preference, if it is available in Texas by then, is a green burial . No embalming, a cardboard casket, no marker other than possibly a newly planted tree. I’m pretty sure there are no green cemeteries anywhere near Texas at this time. And the barriers to starting one are pretty high. Still I like the idea of slowly nourishing the soil under what will be a stately pecan.

    http://www.greenburials.org

Leave a Reply

