A White Christmas

The last couple of months have been quite busy.

Things at work are a tad dicey at the moment.  We’re having problems getting our project to work in a production environment, which means revenues are tight, which means there is a lot of stress.   A lot of stress.  Of course, part of my job as a manager is to be positive and sell it to the folks in the trenches.  I try to do be as honest as I can with the guys – they deserve that.  But, I do try to point out the good things, too.  A pessimistic work crew can be a serious problem.  Everyone is working so hard; they’re really good guys.  Let’s hope we can turn a corner here very soon.

I made the trip home for the Holidays.  What a great trip it was, too!  I loved being able to spend so much time with Cristina.  We had a very low-key Christmas, which was just fine with me.  Although, we did make a couple of trips to The Big City for some Christmas purchases, we stayed at home (or over at her parents’ house) for the most part.  I have an affection not only for my wife, but for my trees, the cats, and the vicious (not really) little Cairn Terrier who comprise my household.

I arrived to snow.  Lots of snow.  Well, relatively speaking.  We had 9″ of snow on the ground at the house, when I got home – and it kept snowing.  We only caught the edge of the huge winter storm that debilitated the State of Washington during the Holidays.  Relative to them, we got a dusting.  But, still, it was a large amount of snow for us.  And, cold. Very, very cold.

When I was growing up in Texas, it only snowed on Christmas in 1963, and I don’t remember that very well.  We would always hope for a White Christmas.  Instead, there would always be a dump of 1″ – 2″ on December 26th.  This happened pretty regularly.  Of course, the first Christmas I spent away from home (1983), they had a White Christmas.  So, I had just about given up on a White Christmas for myself.

On Christmas Eve, we took the folks to Church for services, and it was frigid but clear when we went inside.  But, when we came back out, it was raining.  As cold as it was, rain is a pretty good indicator that there will be snow to follow shortly.  We took Cristina’s parents home and got them settled in; then, we headed home.  Our place is about 600 feet higher than town.  The house sits just short of 1,000 feet, while the back part of the property is a bit above 1,000 feet.  As we started the ascent to the house, the snow kicked in, and by the time we got to the house, it was snowing pretty good.  Then, it died off.  Then, it started again.  Then, we went to bed.

When we got up the next morning, the place was covered with about 2″ of snow.  I had my first ever White Christmas.  I was ecstatic.  I was ecstatic despite having to get up and drive in to get to our Christmas dinner at my in-laws’ place.  It was beautiful!

I know that those who’ve been inundated by snow this year are rolling their eyes and shaking their heads.  But, for me it was one of the best things that had ever happened during any Holiday period.

One of the NOT best things came when Cristina’s mom fell, and we had to take her to the hospital, where she stayed for about two weeks past when I had to return back to KSA.  She has recovered, now, and she appears to be doing very well.  She’s a pretty tough and resilient lady.  🙂

As always, returning was a tough thing to do.  But, in this economy, we consider ourselves blessed just to have a job and source of income.  I hope all who read this can say the same thing.

Leave a Reply

