Getting Ahead of Yourself

I am alive.

Those who were following my blog through the Fall probably believe I have fallen off the face of the planet, but that is not the case. I am still here. I just haven’t been writing – anything.

I guess I could blame it on the promotion I got in mid-December. My boss promoted me to a senior management position, giving me the responsibility for creating, revising, and implementing business processes throughout the organization. Additionally, I manage a team of technical writers hell bent on bringing the writing of engineers into line with what is considered standard within the software industry – a noble if somewhat Quixotic goal. But, really, the job doesn’t prevent me from writing.

If I was willing, blame might go to the intellectual battle within my brain each day as I try to determine what I want to do come August. My one year contract will be up here in Saudi Arabia, and I’ll face the choice of continuing to work on this current project or returning back to the U.S. to a difficult job market that will almost assuredly take me away from home for extended periods of time. Weighing my alternatives is a taxing effort, but it doesn’t keep me from writing.

Looking for a job might be a good excuse. Unfortunately, I haven’t spent a lot of time doing this. I mean the odd opportunity comes up that requires a response, but most employers want someone who can go to work as soon as possible. For me, it would take a pretty impressive financial opportunity to overcome the costs associated with terminating my current employment early. So, I haven’t put a great deal of effort into job seeking as of yet – though the time for such efforts is approaching swiftly. I didn’t spend that extra time writing, however.

If I was truly seeking a scapegoat for not writing on this blog, or my short stories, or my novels, I suppose it wouldn’t be too far a reach to blame my recent trip back home for occupying so much of my time that I could not write. For two months prior to the trip, I anticipated every move associated with going home. I searched for great ticket deals, configured the best flight path, and worked with my family to ensure I could get the most familial coverage in the most efficient manner. Then, of course, there was the trip itself. Twenty-four hours in flight – both ways – eighteen days of love and food and companionship. Of course, I could have used all that flight time to write, and I did not do so.

Maybe my daily chores could be to blame. Washing dishes, doing laundry, cooking dinner, cleaning out the litter box. That’s a chunk of time out of each evening and from my days off. Not all of it, though. A significant portion of my free time remains unaccounted for as I consider the last several months. Time I could have used for writing.

Nope. I think I have to be honest. I have to blame the Laws of Physics. Inertia. A body at rest tends to remain at rest. It’s just simpler and easier to sit on the couch and watch television or to surf the net in a mindless hypnotic fog. Which leaves me to wonder: Where are the elves who wrote this blog entry?

Copyright 2007, Greg Hubbard.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Leave a Reply

