Wal-Mart vs. Target

I hate Wal-Mart. I am not sure I can be much plainer thant that. I am a Target shopper. This morning, MSNBC posted a piece on the competition between the two retailers (http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/8244689/) asking whether Wal-Mart, which finds itself in the unique position of playing catch-up, could really compete in Target’s market.

I think not.

Though they alluded to it, they didn’t really point out one of the key issues that make the Wal-Mart shopping experience so hideous: crowded, over-merchandised, junky aisles.

Cristina and I hate Wal-Mart (I may have said that before), and we only go there if we feel we absolutely must. For the longest time, it was the only place where I could find a particular OTC medicine I found effective in treating my sinus/allergy condition. I always held out as long as I could, then we made a single trip about once every three months. Fortunately, Long’s Drugs now carries the product, and I am no longer required to make that horrific trek any longer. Cristina, however, went there yesterday hoping to find some inexpensive curtains that could be used in the house while it was on the market. Instead, she found narrow aisles filled with junky looking displays, junky products, stockers stocking those junky products – but unwilling to move for her to pass, and wall-to-wall people. After nearly an hour of frustration, she left and went to nearby Kohl’s.

Maybe I’ve become a bit of a snob as I’ve moved up the economic ladder, but I don’t enjoy spending good money on crappy products that will last 1/3 the time of something only moderately more expensive. And, I darned sure don’t like feeling as if I am wading through a sardine can to find what I came to find.

Until Wal-Mart address these issues, they’ll never succeed in wooing the middle-class patrons they desire.

One thought on “Wal-Mart vs. Target

  1. I also hate the Wal-Mart experience. And on more than one occasion I have vowed never to darken their door again. However most of our savings at Wal-Mart come from using store-brands. Personally I’m content with the Equate version of most commodities. I’ll have to check again, but I don’t believe Target has comparable generics.

    On the other hand if we buy clothing at W it is an impulse buy. But we mostly take that business to Penny’s.

    Honestly I think W is sowing the seeds of its own competition. W has been so effective at standardizing supply-chain practices that other merchants will soon be taking advantage of the same efficiencies.

    COMMENT:
    You must be adopted!!!!!! Your mother cannot make it without a trip to “Wally World” at least twice a week. Randy and I narrowly escaped it this trip to Texas – but we know our luck will not hold out on the next trip because there are things she “just must show us”.

    Have you ever noticed the filthyness of their floors/carpets your brother always says he needs a shot after going in the baby department – but they were the only place that carried the diapers AC & Trace were not alergic to.

    Love you lots! Twila

Leave a Reply

