Depression Is For The Depressed

I suffer from chronic clinical depression. This has been diagnosed medically; it is not a self-diagnosis. I have been treated with a combination of pharmacology and psychological therapy.

Lots of folks like to keep this sort of dark secret hidden away from public view. So, why in the world would I voluntarily announce it to the world? Because suffering from depression is not some horrible blight on a person’s character. Depression is a medical condition caused by a chemical imbalance and can be treated in several ways — some involving drugs, some not. No one should feel ashamed about suffering from depression, and they should not hide from the condition and worsen it by not seeking some form of treatment.

Most of all, though, I just want to let folks know that they are not alone.

Over the next little bit, I am going to post some excerpts of my own story, but I’m also going to post as an advocate of action in treating the condition. Allowing depression to remain untreated can have negative consequences not only for the depressed individual, but also for friends and family. Depression is a SERIOUS condition, and it should not be ignored.

Right now, I am in a very good place…off the medication and on my own. Luckily, my wife keeps a pretty good eye on me, and she calls my attention to concerns she might have that are reflected in my behavior.

But, finally, if you think you may be suffering from depression, please seek help immediately.

Copyright 2005 by Greg Hubbard

Leave a Reply

